LOL Reading Cafe

The Oceans Between Us

Author: Gill Thompson

Date: Monday July 31, 2021

Time: 6:30 - 8:30pm

Venue: Virtual (Ladies Out Loud Reading Cafe FB Group)

Members: FREE (with a paid 2020 membership)*

*Memberships can be purchased via membership tab.

*Food/beverage available to purchase and encouraged.

 

RSVP Required.

*Please note that no shows or last minute cancellations jeopardize the relationship we have with local cafes and restaurants and the success of this group.

*Food/beverage available to purchase and encouraged.

ABOUT THE BOOK...

A Man Called Ove

Author: Fredrik Backman

The million-copy bestselling phenomenon, Fredrik Backman's heartwarming debut is a funny, moving, uplifting tale of love and community that will leave you with a spring in your step. Perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project and David Nicholl's US. New York Times bestseller 'Warm, funny, and almost unbearably moving' Daily Mail 'Rescued all those men who constantly mean to read novels but never get round to it' Spectator Books of the Year At first sight, Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He thinks himself surrounded by idiots - neighbours who can't reverse a trailer properly, joggers, shop assistants who talk in code, and the perpetrators of the vicious coup d'etat that ousted him as Chairman of the Residents' Association. He will persist in making his daily inspection rounds of the local streets. But isn't it rare, these days, to find such old-fashioned clarity of belief and deed? Such unswerving conviction about what the world should be, and a lifelong dedication to making it just so? In the end, you will see, there is something about Ove that is quite irresistible

About the Author:

Gill Thompson is an English lecturer who completed an MA in Creative Writing at Chichester University. Her first novel, THE OCEANS BETWEEN US, tells the heart-breaking story of a mother and son separated by war and by continents, fighting their way back to each other. The first three chapters of THE OCEANS BETWEEN US were longlisted for the Mslexia novel award and the first page of her second work in progress has been selected to feature in Mslexia magazine. Gill lives with her family in West Sussex and teaches English to college students and hosts a creative writing blog.

LOL Reading Cafe - Book Shelf

My Secret Sister - Author Helen Edwards & Jenny Lee Smith

Oranges & Sunshine - Author Margaret Humphreys

The Light Between Oceans - Author M.L. Stedman

The Love Warrior - Author, Glennon Doyle Melton

The Shack - Author, Wm Paul Young

Lion: A Long Way Home - Author, Saroo Grierley

The Birth House - Author, Ami McKay

The Glass Castle - Jeanette Wall

The Red Tent - Anita Diamant

Feeding My Mother - Jan Arden

The Full Catastrophe - Karen Elizabeth Lee

The Forgotten Ones - Steena Holmes

Tattooist of Auschwitz - Heather Morris

Sea of Memories - Fiona Valpy

Educated - Tara Westover

The Witch Finders Sister - Beth Underdown

This Is How It Always Is - Laura Frankel

The Bookshop of Yesterday - Amy Meyerson

Becoming - Michelle Obama

Someone I Used to Know - Wendy Mitchell

A Good Wife - Samra Zafar

Where The Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens

The Patient - Steena Holmes

Eleanor Oliphant is completely fine - Gail Honeyman

Maybe You Should Talk To Someone - Lori Gottlieb

The Giver of Stars - Jojo Moyes

The Henna Artist - Alka joshi

The House by the Sea - Santa Montefiore

I know Why the Caged Bird Sings - Maya Angelou

The Book of Lost Names - Kristin Harmel

The Jane Austen Society - Natalie Jenner

Clinical Trial - Tammy Plunkett

Lies We Tell Ourselves - Steena Holmes

Indian Horse - Richard Wagamese

The Island of Sea Women - Lisa See

The Push - Ashley Audrain

The Oceans Between Us - Gill Thompson (May Read)

A View Across the Rooftops - Suzanne Kelman (June Read)

LOL Reading Cafe

A View Across The Rooftops

Author: Suzanne Kelman

Date: Monday June 28, 2021

Time: 6:30 - 8:30pm

Venue: TBA

Members: FREE (with a paid 2020 membership)*

*Memberships can be purchased via membership tab.

*Food/beverage available to purchase and encouraged.

 

RSVP Required.

*Please note that no shows or last minute cancellations jeopardize the relationship we have with local cafes and restaurants and the success of this group.

*Food/beverage available to purchase and encouraged.

ABOUT THE BOOK...

A View Across The Rooftops

Author: Suzanne Kelman

 

1941, Nazi-occupied Amsterdam. An unforgettable story of love, hope and betrayal, and a testament to the courage of humanity in history’s darkest days.

 

University professor Josef Held has never recovered from the loss of his beloved wife – and has no intention of ever letting anyone new into his quiet, safe world. It is a world where the clock ticks steadily in his mathematics classroom, even as the sinister beat of Nazi soldiers’ boots threaten to drown it out.

 

Terrified, Josef tries to keep his eyes on the ground as Jews across the city are forced into ghettos. But then Michael Blum, his most reluctant, infuriating pupil, tells Josef Jews like him will no longer be allowed to study at all. Josef can ignore the situation no longer. And, after the shock of seeing his neighbour killed on his own doorstep, he offers Michael a place to hide in an impulsive act of courage.

 

Michael is everything Josef is not: spontaneous, poetic, and unafraid to love. Even though his passionate relationship with a Dutch girl is strictly forbidden – for he is Jewish, and she is not. Somehow, in the quiet gloom of the attic, Josef doesn’t mind things about Michael that annoyed him in the classroom, and a bond begins to grow.

 

Remembering the pain of his own heartbreak, Josef is desperate to give Michael and his girlfriend a chance. He must go on as if nothing has changed: teaching his class, bowing to the Nazis. Beneath the fear, a thrill of defiance begins to bloom. But then Michael becomes perilously ill, and there is no way to get him the help he desperately needs.

 

As the dark days of war continue, with danger and betrayal at every turn, no-one can be trusted. If Michael is to survive and get back to the woman he loves, it will be down to Josef – to find the hero inside himself, and do whatever it takes to keep Michael alive. Even if it means putting his own life on the line.

A heartbreakingly beautiful story about love, trust, and courage against the odds, perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, Lilac Girls, and The Nightingale.

About the Author

Suzanne Kelman is an Amazon international bestselling author in America, United Kingdom, Canada, and Australia and her books have sold over 250,000 copies worldwide and have been translated into six languages. Her WW2 historical fiction books "A View Across the Rooftops", "When We Were Brave, and Under a Sky on Fire" are published by Bookouture - an imprint for Hachette U.K.

She is also the author of the bestselling book, "The Rejected Writers' Book Club", published by Lake Union, which is the first book in the Southlea Bay series. Other books in the series include, "Rejected Writers Take the Stage" and "The Rejected Writers' Christmas Wedding".

Kelman is an award-winning writer/screenwriter whose accolades include the Best Comedy Feature Screenplay Award from the L.A. International Film Festival, the Gold Award from the California Film Awards, and the Van Gogh Award from the Amsterdam Film Festival.

In 2015 her script, Held, was recognized by the Academy of Motion Pictures and was shortlisted to the top ten in the Academy Of Motion Pictures Nichols Fellowship competition.

As well as a screenwriter and a published author, Suzanne is also a playwright, and her award-winning comedy play, "Over My Dead Body", had its World Premiere at Outcast Theatre in Washington, Fall 2019.

Born in the United Kingdom, Suzanne now resides in Washington State.

© 2021 by LADIES OUT LOUD

  • c-facebook
  • Twitter Classic
  • Instagram Social Icon