Love books and movies?

Ladies Out Loud - Reading Cafe is for ladies who are interested in reading the book of the month and enjoy discussing the ins and outs of the story. There is no commitment . If you don't fancy the chosen book  then you don't have to read it...join us the next time.

We meet at the Ladies Out Loud Event Centre, Airdrie. We chat about books, movies, shows and life in general. Come join us!

 

READING CAFe!.png

A Man Called Ove

Author: Fredrik Backman

Date: Monday April 25, 2022

Time: 6:30-8:30pm

Venue: LOL Event Centre 121 Edmonton Trail

Backside (west) of Best Western Hotel.

RSVP Required.

Members: FREE

Non Members: $10

*Tea/Coffee/Cookies included.

Wine other beverages available to purchase.

About the Book

The million-copy bestselling phenomenon, Fredrik Backman's heartwarming debut is a funny, moving, uplifting tale of love and community that will leave you with a spring in your step. Perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project and David Nicholl's US.

New York Times bestseller

'Warm, funny, and almost unbearably moving' Daily Mail

'Rescued all those men who constantly mean to read novels but never get round to it' Spectator Books of the Year

At first sight, Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He thinks himself surrounded by idiots - neighbours who can't reverse a trailer properly, joggers, shop assistants who talk in code, and the perpetrators of the vicious coup d'etat that ousted him as Chairman of the Residents' Association. He will persist in making his daily inspection rounds of the local streets.

But isn't it rare, these days, to find such old-fashioned clarity of belief and deed? Such unswerving conviction about what the world should be, and a lifelong dedication to making it just so?

In the end, you will see, there is something about Ove that is quite irresistible...

April-June Books.png
Copy of READING CAFE Handmaids Tale.png

From Blood and Ash

Author: Jennifer Armentrout

Date: Wednesday May 11

Time: 2:00-4:00pm

Venue: TBD

RSVP Required.

Members: FREE*

Non Members: $5*

*Food and Beverage not included.

About the Book

A Maiden…

Chosen from birth to usher in a new era, Poppy’s life has never been her own. The life of the Maiden is solitary. Never to be touched. Never to be looked upon. Never to be spoken to. Never to experience pleasure. Waiting for the day of her Ascension, she would rather be with the guards, fighting back the evil that took her family, than preparing to be found worthy by the gods. But the choice has never been hers.

A Duty…

The entire kingdom’s future rests on Poppy’s shoulders, something she’s not even quite sure she wants for herself. Because a Maiden has a heart. And a soul. And longing. And when Hawke, a golden-eyed guard honor bound to ensure her Ascension, enters her life, destiny and duty become tangled with desire and need. He incites her anger, makes her question everything she believes in, and tempts her with the forbidden.

A Kingdom…

Forsaken by the gods and feared by mortals, a fallen kingdom is rising once more, determined to take back what they believe is theirs through violence and vengeance. And as the shadow of those cursed draws closer, the line between what is forbidden and what is right becomes blurred. Poppy is not only on the verge of losing her heart and being found unworthy by the gods, but also her life when every blood-soaked thread that holds her world together begins to unravel.

LOL Reading Cafe - Book Shelf

My Secret Sister - Author Helen Edwards & Jenny Lee Smith

Oranges & Sunshine - Author Margaret Humphreys

The Light Between Oceans - Author M.L. Stedman

The Love Warrior - Author, Glennon Doyle Melton

The Shack - Author, Wm Paul Young

Lion: A Long Way Home - Author, Saroo Grierley

The Birth House - Author, Ami McKay

The Glass Castle - Jeanette Wall

The Red Tent - Anita Diamant

Feeding My Mother - Jan Arden

The Full Catastrophe - Karen Elizabeth Lee

The Forgotten Ones - Steena Holmes

Tattooist of Auschwitz - Heather Morris

Sea of Memories - Fiona Valpy

Educated - Tara Westover

The Witch Finders Sister - Beth Underdown

This Is How It Always Is - Laura Frankel

The Bookshop of Yesterday - Amy Meyerson

Becoming - Michelle Obama

Someone I Used to Know - Wendy Mitchell

A Good Wife - Samra Zafar

Where The Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens

The Patient - Steena Holmes

Eleanor Oliphant is completely fine - Gail Honeyman

Maybe You Should Talk To Someone - Lori Gottlieb

The Giver of Stars - Jojo Moyes

The Henna Artist - Alka joshi

The House by the Sea - Santa Montefiore

I know Why the Caged Bird Sings - Maya Angelou

The Book of Lost Names - Kristin Harmel

The Jane Austen Society - Natalie Jenner

Clinical Trial - Tammy Plunkett

Lies We Tell Ourselves - Steena Holmes

Indian Horse - Richard Wagamese

The Island of Sea Women - Lisa See

The Push - Ashley Audrain

The Oceans Between Us - Gill Thompson 

A View Across the Rooftops - Suzanne Kelman

The Invention of Wings - Sue Monk Kidd

Shadow & Bone - Leigh Bardugo

The Catcher in the Rye - J. D. Salinger

Outlander Book 1 - Diana Gabaldon

The Skylark's Secret - Fiona Valpy

Bridgertons, The Duke & I - Julia Quinn

The Murmur of Bees, Sophia Segovia

One for the Blackbird, One for the Crow - Olivia Hawker

The Nightingale, Kristin Hannah

Home for Unwanted Girls - Joanna Goodman

A Discoverty of Witches - Deborah Harkness

The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane - Lisa See

My Brilliant Friend - Elena Ferrante

The Handmaid's Tale - Margaret Atwood

Ladies Book Club Airdrie